top of page

My father was a poet

Updated: Jan 24, 2022

C. J. Hollenbach:

Toffie, Coenie, Meester, Uncle, Daddy, Oupa, Meneer Hollenbach, Mr Hollie, Hollenbach. My dad had about as many titles as he had talents. He qualified in 1954 as a teacher, but in his soul, he was an artist.



His story begins on 8 August 1934 in Namaqualand as the youngest of twelve children of Coenraad Jozef Hollenbach and Elizabeth Hollenbach, née Cloete. My great-grandfather was one of three Hollenbach brothers who came from Germany to South Africa. My grandmother was the daughter of a Nama Captain, Dirk Cloete.


Their family was poor like many in those days and they had to move around to wherever my grandpa could find work. They spent their last years in Upington where Oupa died at the age of seventy-four and Ouma at eighty-three.


Daddy started his teaching career in Cilliers, just outside Kakamas in the Northern Cape. Uncle Saal, the principal of the school, was married to Aunty Miemie, my mom’s sister and it is where my mom and dad met and got married. My brother Robert and I grew up together with our Saal cousins and I only have fond memories of Cilliers.



Our next home was in Lutzburg, another outpost (“suburb” is too grand) of Kakamas, where my dad was appointed principal of the small school there. “Meester”, as my dad was called, did not just teach at school, he also conducted the Sunday church services which were held at school, and sometimes even funerals. Ds. Sinclair, the dominee in Kakamas, only visited the outposts about once a term. Mom or “Miesies”, as she was called, conducted weekly prayer meetings with the women.


My parents were highly respected in the community, and they also had friends in Kakamas where they belonged to a tennis club. At some stage Daddy became involved as a referee for rugby matches as well. We remained close with the Saal family and sometimes went on outings together such as visiting the amazing Augrabies Waterfalls. I will always remember these idyllic years which formed the strong base of my early childhood.


My sister Valerie and brother Anthony were born in Lutzburg within a year of each other. Tony was a sickly baby and consumed most of Mamma’s attention. Daddy had to take over the care of Val, who was only a year old, and this forged a strong bond between them.


As a little girl, I can remember Daddy’s pencil-drawn portraits of historic figures which he put up on the walls of his classroom. I just assumed that it was something all dads could do. Daddy started writing poetry, some of which was published at first in “Die Ligdraer”, the N.G. Sendingkerk’s mouthpiece, and then also in the newspaper “Landstem” as well as magazines “Huisgenoot” and “Brandwag”. My dad also composed the official “Kinderbondlied” for the church.


Our family moved to Keimoes, a green oases-like town in 1964. Daddy started teaching at the Primary School George-Eiland which Valerie and I attended as well. Charmienne, my baby sister, was born in Keimoes.


The Primary Schools in the area formed the “Keimoes Kultuurvereniging” and events such as Choir Competitions and Spring Festivals were organized every few years. Daddy’s artistic talents were put to good use and together with Mr. Johnson, won many trophies in choir competitions. My father was the go-to person for assistance with anything to do with art and was a sought-after master of ceremonies.

Daddy taught Afrikaans, General Science and Accounting at the Senior Secondary School Oranjezicht for two years. In 1987 he returned to George-Eiland Primary School as Principal. In the meantime, he was also improving his qualifications by means of long-distance studies through Roggebaai Kollege and Unisa.


Maybe the biggest accomplishment for my dad was the publication of a Poetry Anthology “Aankoms uit die skemer” in 1988 with Ds. Patrick Petersen, Noёl Adams, Andrѐ Boezak, Floris A. Brown, M.C. Mackier and Marius Titus. In a review published in “Rapport” Melvin Whitebooi wrote: “Hollenbach neem sy leser op ‘n ontstellende reis waarin hy ‘n groot deel van sy “eie self” openbaar. Daar is bitterheid oor dwaashede soos die Groepsgebiedewet, hartseer-woede oor die vierjarige Rosaline Cloete wat op Kakamas deur ‘n R1-geweer doodgeskiet is… en daar is ‘n stryd met God.”


Later in 1988, Daddy’s own Book of Poems, “Gister se gestaltes” was published by Prog Publishers. Many of his poems were inspired by the socio-economic circumstances of Coloured people during the Apartheid years, but some also reflect his faith in God.

Dr. Roswitha Schutte has the following to say in her review: “Die stem wat tot die leser spreek in Hollenbach se beskeie bundeltjie van dertig bladsye, hoort duidelik aan iemand wat wéét van bitterheid en haat oor swaarkry en onderdrukking en die behoefte aan verandering. Maar dit is ook iemand wat toevlug en troos gesoek en vir homself gevind het in die geloof in God.”


Our family will always remember the excitement in 1989 when Joan Kruger and cameraman Johan Nel came to interview my father for the television program “Uit en Tuis” on SABC.

In 1996 my dad was honoured by the ATKV “Vir sy besondere bydrae op die Afrikaanse kultuurterrein…” and in 1997 his poem “Terugblik” was published in an anthology of poems for students, “Reёnboogstemme”. A short story “Oom Sakkie, Die Lispelaar”, appeared in Kalahari Korrels, a book of short stories which was published by the Upington ATKV- Branch in 1999.



Dad enjoyed a good belly laugh when he found something funny, and he was comfortable around people, but I suspect that he was more of an introvert than the extrovert he pretended to be. His sensitive artistic soul must have found the daily drudge challenging sometimes and I don’t think people really knew him. My relationship with him was at times less than ideal but I think I understand his essence better now that I am more mature.


He experienced deep sorrow when at first his son Tony passed away in 2000 and only a year later in 2001, our mom. Our family had to say goodbye to my dad in 2003, but at least he was spared another death, the loss of our baby sister Charmie in 2004. This was a dark time for us and it left the remaining siblings Robby, Valerie and me reeling from the shock of losing four family members.


We treasure Daddy’s art pieces, a selfportrait in pencil and a watercolour of the iconic waterwheel in Keimoes, as well as his published works as a precious inheritance. He left an indelible footprint in our lives and will be remembered by many.

I honour his memory.


Till next time.

Shirley Rose




38 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page