top of page

DID YOU EVER HAD TO CHANGE LANES?

Updated: Aug 24, 2022

SWITCHING LANES


A few years ago, when I increasingly started going to school with a heavy heart and heavy limbs, it was time for some introspection. Do I need to change what I do?


My teaching career started in 1973 at the tender age of seventeen, turning 18 in September of that year. Circumstances dictated that I had to leave school after Std. 8 (Gr. 10), followed by two years of teacher training at Zonnebloem College. The next two decades were demanding. I got married, had three children, completed Matric through Correspondence, completed a BA-Degree through Unisa and moved to Cape Town while teaching full time.






The decision to resign from teaching in 2000, was not an easy one. I was leaving my security blanket behind. Looking into my passions and interests, studying to become a Psychologist, was first on my list. With Psychology as one of my majors, I applied to two Universities to start the long journey of my new career.


It was a huge let down to be told that my pass-percentage of 63% was not high enough to be accepted into the Honours program. During an appeal- appointment with the Dean of Psychology at UWC, I was told that there was only place for a small number of students in the program and that there were many students with higher percentages than mine. The fact that I was a mature woman with life-experience who obtained a degree despite tough study circumstances, was not considered.


I could repeat Psychology III to get a higher percentage and try again in a year’s time, but there was no guarantee that I would be accepted even then. My next option was to look at my other interests.


Personal style and the influence thereof on our wellbeing, was something that fascinated me as long as I can remember. My mom and aunt were two stylish women and I was definitely influenced by them. As an avid reader, I could not find books on style in our small library in our town, Keimoes. I was a member of “Leserskring” and I discovered they have books available of the international image company “Color me Beautiful”. I started my collection of books on style with their “Presenting yourself” written by Mary Spillane.


After discovering that it is possible to get training as an Image Consultant, I made an appointment with Ria Strauss, franchise owner of CMB South Africa. I was accepted into their training program to become an Image Consultant and I took to it like a duck to water. After my initial training, I gained precious experience working under Ria’s mentorship. After five years, I set up my own studio at home and started working for myself, doing what I like.


To promote my business, I gave many free talks to diverse groups of women. These talks were to interest ladies (and men) to book individual, paid consultations. Feedback on talks was always positive, but not enough consultations were generated to provide an income. Sadly, after a few years, I had to look for a paid job.


For the next four years, I enjoyed selling jewellery, my other passion, in two high end jewellery stores. After a few courses in the art of selling, I ended up with the honour of being the salesperson with the highest sales in my last year of selling jewellery. This was a growth-opportunity, but not what I wanted to do for the rest of my working life.


After my forays into other interests, I was ready to return to my first love, Teaching, in 2011. After two much needed courses to become re-acquainted with all the changes in Education, I enjoyed this second chance to be a Learning Support Educator. I retired happily from teaching in 2018.


My dad was a poet and writer as well as a teacher. My daughter and son definitely inherited this gift from him and I remember always having the urge to write as well. I wrote a sporadically over the years, but only for myself. This year, I wanted to start a Blog writing about life and style.


Style and Fashion are concepts that can leave us overwhelmed and perplexed. Having had training as an Image Consultant, consulted numerous books on style and having kept up with new trends in fashion, I want to concentrate more on Style in my Blog, Shirley over Sixty.


Join me on a Style Journey starting from my next Blog to discover, learn, debunk some myths, agree or disagree or just to enjoy a topic so integral to a woman’s life.


Till we chat again.












169 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page